Society

Differences between vegan and vegetarian

Meat and fish are foods that are widely recommended by nutritionists and should be part of a balanced diet for a human being. However, many people are forced to limit their intake for health reasons, even to the point of having to completely exclude them from their diet.

In the same way, there are people who, by their own decision, either because of some ideology or because they follow a healthier diet in their opinion, also completely exclude them, some more strictly than others. This is where the terms vegan and vegetarian are valid, two terms that imply several differences, some more radical than others and that we will comment on in this article.

vegan

We can say that vegan refers to a diet that implies not consuming any type of food that is of animal origin. Therefore, vegans reject all those foods such as meat, fish, honey, milk, eggs, among many others. Instead, they consume foods like fruits, grains, vegetables, etc.

Frequently, a person who decides to opt for a vegan diet is because they have a very strict idea of ​​what respect for animals is, including, but not limited to, the death of animals for human consumption, the exploitation and captivity of animals. animals for food, among others.

Generally, being vegan implies that acquiring products for consumption is somewhat complicated, because many products use elements that are of animal origin in their composition and that we could not know their origin. Therefore, fully accomplishing this task will require extensive documentation by the vegan. Among some of these elements we can find: casein, which is a protein from milk and also carminic acid, which is extracted from some insects.

Vegetarian

When we speak of a vegetarian person, we refer to a person who has a diet in which the consumption of meat and fish is subtracted. Commonly, vegetarian people choose to eat vegetables, from which their name comes, among which we find plants, vegetables, legumes, seeds, etc.

Also, a vegetarian person is not necessarily limited to vegetable consumption, so they can consume dairy products such as butter, cheese, yogurt, as well as other foods from animals such as eggs, honey, among others.

Many times people become vegetarians out of respect for animal life, although there are also cases of people who decide to opt for a healthier diet or because of their culture, religion or for health reasons, as determined by their doctor. or nutritionist.

Differences between vegan and vegetarian

vegan Vegetarian
Being vegan can be considered as a philosophy of life that is based on respect for animals. Being a vegetarian is considered a way of eating that respects animal life, in the sense of avoiding meat and fish in your diet.
A vegan decides not to consume absolutely any type of meat or fish and not food that comes from animals. They can consume food from animals such as milk, eggs, honey, butter, cheese, etc. Some vegetarians exclude eggs and others dairy.
Generally, a person becomes a vegan because they have developed an ideology of -rejection- of animal abuse. There are many cases of people who become vegetarians out of obligation, since, for health reasons, they cannot consume meat or fish.
It is considered a much stricter diet than a vegetarian diet, therefore, supplements must be consumed to cover the deficit of vitamins and minerals in the body. It is a less strict diet than the vegan one, although in the same way, it is advisable to consult a nutritionist to advise us on the diet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CAPTCHA


Back to top button