Difference Between Kangaroo and Wallaby

Main difference

The main difference between Kangaroo and Wallaby is that Kangaroo is a large sized marsupial while Wallaby is a small sized marsupial.

Kangaroo vs. Wallaby

The kangaroo is a large marsupial, while the wallaby is a small marsupial. The kangaroo has dull-colored fur; on the other hand, kangaroos have a shiny outer skin. The kangaroo resides in open areas such as vacant lots. Wallaby lives in the woods. The kangaroo loses its premolars in adulthood, while the wallaby has premolars. Kangaroos feed on grasses, while wallabies feed mainly on grasses, plant leaves and vegetables. The kangaroo eats with incisors, while the wallaby eats with premolars.

The kangaroo has long hind legs; on the other hand, the wallaby has short and compact hind legs. The length between the knees and ankles is greater in the kangaroo and less in the wallaby. The legs are larger compared to a kangaroo’s body, giving it an improper shape. The length of the legs of the wallaby is in the correct proportion to the body. The kangaroo’s tail is long and more powerful compared to a wallaby. The kangaroo has a lifespan of 20 to 25 years. Wallaby lives from 10 to 15 years. The weight of kangaroos is greater than that of kangaroos. Kangaroos cannot sit comfortably on butts, while kangaroos can sit on butts.

Comparison chart

Kangaroo wallabies
Kangaroos are known as marsupials, which means that they carry their young in their belly bags after birth and milk them. Wallaby is a small sized kangaroo. They belong to the family of macropods.
Big Small
Dark and dull coat shiny coat
open lands forests
without premolars have premolars
tall grasses Leaves
Hind legs
long and strong short and dense
Life expectancy
20-25 years 10-15 years
2-24 kilograms Up to 91kg

What is the kangaroo?

Kangaroo species are present in Australia. Kangaroos are known as marsupials, which means that they carry their young in their belly bags after birth and milk them. When babies mature, they come out of pouches. Afterward, the babies return to the pouch just to nurse. Kangaroos belong to the macropod family. Macropods means big feet, which help to jump. The kangaroo has a great length between the knees and the ankles. Because of that, the kangaroo’s body looks quite different. Their oversized feet are the only source of locomotion. They run and jump with big feet and powerful legs.

In the kangaroo family, males are larger. Its height is 250 cm and it weighs about 200 pounds; the height measures from the terminal end of the tail to the head. Kangaroos have a long and powerful tail. The tail is supported when sitting. Kangaroos cannot sit on their buttocks. The kangaroo lives in open land and, with its long legs, can run fast. Kangaroos are herbivores and eat vegetation, mainly grasses. During the maturation stage, the premolars are lost: the molar teeth form a curve that helps to eat grass.

The kangaroo has dull skin. The outer skin is dark in color, mainly red, brown or gray. Kangaroo fur is colorless. The distribution of fur varies with each kangaroo. The baby of a kangaroo is known as a “joey.” The life of kangaroos is 20-25 years. People catch the kangaroo for eating meat. The red kangaroo is the largest kangaroo.

What is Wallabies?

Wallaby is a small sized kangaroo. These species are found in Australia and some in New Guinea. Wallaby females carry one young during pregnancy. The mothers keep them in the bag for nine months. The offspring mature at 12-14 months. The height of the largest wallaby is 180 cm and it weighs about 20 kg. They belong to the family of macropods. The Wallaby’s hind legs are short and compact, which aids in hopping and hopping. This leg design also protects from predators. They live in forests where they run fast on their legs.

The wallaby is a herbivore and eats plant leaves, vegetables, grasses, etc. They have premolars and molars to molar the diet. The wallaby’s skin is shiny and mottled and has different colors and spots. It has a beautiful colored coat. The wallaby’s lifespan is about a decade and a half. The tail is short and helps to balance the body during locomotion.

Wallaby can sit on the buttocks. The legs are short; therefore, the wallaby jumps slowly compared to the kangaroo. Wallabies are classified as bush species, rock wallabies, bush species, etc. Agile wallabies, whiptail wallabies, red-naped wallabies are common examples. People seize wallabies for skins and meat.

Key differences

  1. The kangaroo is large while the wallaby is a small sized kangaroo.
  2. The kangaroo has dull-colored fur, while the wallaby has brightly striped fur.
  3. The kangaroo’s habitat is open grassland; on the contrary, the wallaby lives in the forests.
  4. Kangaroo loses premolars during maturity; on the other hand, the wallaby has premolars.
  5. The kangaroo’s diet is grasses, while the wallaby feeds on plant leaves.
  6. The kangaroo has more legs from the knees to the ankles, while the wallaby has short, compact legs.
  7. The kangaroo has lived for more than two decades; on the other hand, the wallaby lives for a decade and a half.
  8. The weight of the kangaroo can be 200 pounds, while the wallaby weighs between four and 53 pounds.

Final Thought

The kangaroo and wallaby are macropods, but kangaroos are large and have large hind legs, while the wallaby is a small kangaroo with short legs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button