Differences between ISO 9001 Version 2008 and 2015

As is evident to some, ISO standards are a set of criteria for the manufacture, communication and marketing of products and services. These are internationally oriented and developed by the International Organization for Standardization, also known as ISO, from which its name derives.

Thus, ISO standards dictate, in a very detailed way, the way in which companies must work to ensure the quality of their products. In addition, this standard establishes a revision frequency of 5 years to keep the contents and requirements up to date, apart from adapting them to the latest trends. That is why there are differences between the standards presented in 2008 and those presented in 2015, which we will see below.

ISO 9001 – 2008 standard

ISO 9001, version 2008, is an internationally recognized quality management system standard that has exceeded one million certificates worldwide. This standard helps to improve quality management systems, in addition to the organizational processes that the company has, increasing the quality of the products and services it offers, as well as helping to meet commercial and clients and interested persons.

This standard is based on compliance with regulatory, legal and operational requirements and is focused on -knowing- and -doing-, that is, it is oriented towards training and information for companies. Its main objective is to help the company take preventive actions in the manufacture and marketing of its products and/or services. In addition, they establish the criteria for the control of purchases through a manual of procedures, documents and business records.

ISO 9001 – 2015 standard

ISO 9001, version 2015, is a quality management system standard that is recognized internationally and has exceeded one and a half million certificates worldwide. This version of the standard is presented as a structure that allows understanding and appreciation of the value of different management system standards using a common language. In addition, it gives greater importance to planning, in fact it considers that the company has to carry out strategic planning to ensure that the quality management system is integrated and aligned with all the specific objectives of the company.

Basically, the ISO 9001 standard in its 2015 version is based on compliance with the most important criteria for the business, in order to integrate quality into its context, customers and stakeholders. Thus, they are oriented in the -want-, that is, awareness and leadership as tools for the achievement of organizational objectives and goals.

Additionally, its main objective is risk management, in order to focus all the company’s resources and the organization’s processes on the systematic achievement of the improvement of products and services that meet the applicable customer and regulatory requirements. Finally, the criteria for the control of goods and services provided externally are established, in accordance with internal management and paying special attention to the value chain.

As can be seen, the changes that the 2015 version of the ISO 9001 standard has presented with respect to the 2008 version are significant. In this sense, the most important differences between both versions are:

ISO 9001 – 2008 ISO 9001 – 2015
Compliance with regulatory, legal and operational requirements. Fulfillment of what is important for the business, the organization, its context and the interested parties.
It focuses on knowing and doing. It focuses on wanting.
It helps the company to take preventive actions. Help the company in risk management.
Criteria are established on the control of purchases. Additional criteria are established on the control of goods and services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Back to top button