Differences between Game of Thrones Series and Book

Game of Thrones is an American medieval fantasy, drama, and adventure television series that is currently very popular with audiences of all ages. This series is based on the series of novels -A Song of Ice and Fire-, by the writer George RR Martin, whose first book is titled Game of Thrones. Since its premiere in 2011, the series has won numerous awards and different nominations, and has also been well received by professional critics, being considered one of the best television series of all time. However, although many alterations are inevitable when a written story is brought to television, for many critics, the television series departs from the book in a significant way, which represents important changes in the development of the plot. So,

game of thrones series

Game of Thrones the series is an American television series released in April 2011 in the US under the direction of Thomas McCarthy, Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Alan Taylor Timothy Van Patten and David Nutter. Thus, it is an adventure and drama series that takes place in Westeros, a fictional continent that focuses on the violent dynastic struggles that arise between various noble families for control of the Iron Throne.

Among some of the peculiarities that are far from the books we can mention:

  • Rob Stark’s wife (Talisa Maegyr of Volantis), dies along with him and the rest of the guests of the red wedding (link between Edmure Tully and Roslin Frey).
  • The Stark matriarch (Catelyn Stark) dies.
  • Mance is executed on the orders of Stannis Baratheon.
  • Sir Barristan is assassinated in the streets of Meereen, after a hard fight against the Sons of the Harpy, a secret society that opposes Daenerys Targaryen.
  • Arianne Martell’s character does not appear and Missandei is a 20-year-old woman.

game of thrones books

Basically, Game of Thrones is one of the books in the “Song of Fire and Ice” saga, a series of epic fantasy novels written by the American novelist and screenwriter George RR Martin that began to be written in 1993, although the first volume was published in 1996.

Originally this series was planned as a trilogy but currently it has been announced that the series will be a heptalogy, since it has five published volumes and two more planned. In addition there are three short novels that act as prequels to the saga and several short novels that compile the chapters dedicated to a certain character.

Likewise, the books in the series have some peculiarities that differentiate them from the television series, among which we have:

After the events of the bloody Red Wedding, Talisa Maegyr (Rob Stark’s wife), remains guarded by soldiers for two years to ensure that she does not give birth to an heir of Rob Stark.

  • Catelyn Stark dies but comes back to life as a kind of zombie under the name of Lady Stoneheart who, consumed by revenge, plans to do justice in Westeros.
  • Mance doesn’t die
  • Sir Barristan is still alive and is left in charge of the city of Meereen when Daenerys Targaryen leaves on Drogon, one of her dragons.
  • Arianne Martell is one of Doran Martell’s daughters and claims revenge when Oberyn Martell is killed by The Mountain.
  • Missandei is a girl of 11 years.

As can be seen, there are several differences between the television series and the books of the saga. These differences are summarized below:

  • The television series consists of eight seasons while the books have seven titles.
  • The television series of GOT (Game Of Thrones) does not have prequels nor have additional chapters been presented so far on certain characters while the books have three prequels and several short novels on certain characters.
  • In the television series Missandei is 20 years old while in the books Missandei is an 11-year-old girl.
  • In the television series, some characters such as Rob’s wife, the Stark matriarch (Lady Stoneheart) and Mance die while in the books these characters are still alive.
  • The character of Arianne Martell does not appear in the television series while in the books, Arianne Martell is one of Doran Martell’s daughters.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button