Difference between Argentina and Spain

Argentina and Spain are two Spanish-speaking countries that are each located on different continents. On the one hand, Argentina is the largest country in Latin America. Spain, on the other hand, is located in Europe. Argentina became independent from the Spanish crown in 1816. Between 1860 and 1930, many Spaniards arrived in the South American country as part of a couple of important migration processes.

Comparison table

Official name Argentinian republic Kingdom of Spain
Capital Buenos Aires Madrid
Population 44,044,811 inhabitants (2017) 46,549,045 inhabitants (2017)
Coin Argentine peso Euro
President Mauricio Macri Mariano Rajoy
territorial extension 2,780,400 km² 505,370 km²
GDP $545.866 million (2016) $1.232 billion (2016)
GDP per capita $12,449 (2016) $26,528 (2016)
Ethnic groups Among the main Argentine ethnic groups are the Andeans, Quechuas, Calchaquíes, Guaraníes, Mapuches, Ranqueles, Aymaras, etc. In Spain there are more than 40 ethnic groups. In addition, the Spanish population is made up of a mixture of Romans, Celts, Iberians, Arabs, French, Catalans, Galicians, Basques, etc.
Traditional food Among the most popular typical Argentine dishes are empanadas, bifé de chorizo, emptiness, mate, chimichurri, churrasco, alfajores, etc. As for the typical Spanish dishes, these include paella, Serrano ham, salmorejo and gazpacho, potato omelette, tapas, etc.
Prominent figures There are many outstanding Argentines in various areas. Among the most popular worldwide are Ernesto “Che” Guevara, Jorge Luis Borges, Eva Perón, Lionel Messi, Gustavo Cerati, Diego Armando Maradona, etc. Among the most renowned Spanish citizens worldwide are Antonio Banderas, Penélope Cruz, Miguel de Cervantes, Arturo Pérez-Reverte, Mario Vargas Llosa, Francisco Franco, Salvador Dalí, Pablo Picasso, Hernán Cortés, Fernando Alonso, etc.
Popes (Catholics) One, Pope Francis (Jorge Mario Bergoglio), Supreme Pontiff since 2013. Four, Damasus I, Alexander VI, Calixtus III and Benedict XIII.
soccer world headquarters One, 1978. One, 1982.
World Cups won Two, 1978 and 1986. One, 2010.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button